The WWL Way
Telephone: 01942 244 000

Annual Health Check 2009 - 2010

Newsdate: 18th December 2009

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) replaced the Healthcare Commission, the Commission for Social care and the Mental Health Act Commission from April 2009, providing an integrated approach to regulation across these bodies current areas of responsibility.   
The Care Quality Commission is responsible for the delivery of the Annual Health Check, including the core standard based assessment.

Trust’s are required to complete an annual declaration of compliance against a number of core standards.  The core standards are grouped into seven key domains:-

  • Safety
  • Clinical and cost effectiveness
  • Governance
  • Patient focus
  • Accessible and responsive care
  • Care environment and amenities
  • Public health

For each core standard, the Trust Board is required to declare one of the following:-

  • That they are “compliant”
  • That they have “insufficient assurance”
  • That the standard is “not met”

For 2009/10 all NHS provider Trusts are required to submit a mid year declaration of compliance with the core standards.

PDF Document Read our Mid Year Declaration of Compliance for 2009 - 2010