The WWL Way
Telephone: 01942 244 000

WWL wins at Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards

Newsdate: 29 November 2018

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Foundation Trust’s cancer team was announced the winner of the ‘Outstanding Contribution’ category at this year’s Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards, for their oncology collaboration with The Christie NHS Foundation Trust.

Staff from the region’s hospital trusts, primary care centres and other partners gathered in Manchester city centre for the sixth-annual ceremony on November 22, organised by NIHR Clinical Research Network, Greater Manchester (CRN GM) to toast excellence in health research delivery.

In 2017 WWL’s Oncology Research team, in collaboration with The Christie Hospital, pioneered the delivery of a commercial trial to lead the way for further pharmaceutical companies to explore this way of working. WWL and The Christie Hospital have worked hard in setting up the trial that has been operated simultaneously across both sites.

The trial will provide patients with more options to access research and different treatments closer to home. It is the first of its kind in the region and paves the way for the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) to increase opportunities for patients to participate in, and benefit from research, in line with the government initiative ‘Care Closer to Home.’

Angela Power, Senior Oncology Research Nurse at WWL said: “The team is overjoyed to have been announced the winner of the ‘Outstanding Contribution’ award, as it has proven to be an excellent innovation and service development for the patients of the Wigan Borough. This brings oncology research closer to the patients and we look forward to more partnership working in the future.

WWL was successfully shortlisted in three award categories, against very strong competition. Tracey Taylor, Senior Research Nurse was named runner up in the ‘Research Nurse of the Year’ category and the Divisional Clinical Research Champions were shortlisted for ‘Research Team of the Year’